You are here

About the Morton Register

The Morton Arboretum has compiled a database of global tree-focused public gardens that is the basis for the ArbNet collaborative network. The Morton Register is a constantly growing list, identifying  organizations that collect and display trees, shrubs, and other woody plants for the benefit of the public, science, and conservation. Any tree-focused organization can be included in the Register, regardless of size. The Morton Register of Arboreta should not be confused with arboreta that have been accredited through the ArbNet Arboretum Accreditation Program. Arbnet -  accredited arboreta are highlighted in the Morton Register with the official ArbNet accreditation badge and a link to their dedicated profile web pages.  Organizations listed in the Morton Register are strongly encouraged to become accredited through the ArbNet Accreditation Program.

Level IV Accredited Arboreta (Subchannel)

Level III Accredited Arboreta (Subchannel)

Level II Accredited Arboreta (Subchannel)

Level I Accredited Arboreta (Subchannel)

View all Accredited Arboreta (Subchannel)

An arboretum is a specialized type of botanical garden that focuses on trees and other woody plants.  Arboreta collect, grow, and display trees, shrubs, and other plants for people to study and enjoy, and ideally are open to the public for education and inspiration.  A principal goal of arboreta is to advance the planting, study and conservation of trees to improve the world.

To add your organization to the Morton Register of Arboreta, please contact the ArbNet coordinator at